More Obama Threats to Veto Spending Cuts

Posted on July 19, 2011

0



More Obama Threats to Veto Spending Cuts

 

I was just talking about this topic last night on the show, and more than likely will continue to bring it up because of the dire need for the cuts that are being proposed. Although I would like to see far more cuts and a drastic change, that will never happen, so like many I have to be happy with the small gifts that we receive. The problem is the President has threatened a veto on the GOP plan to cut spending and to pass a balanced budget amendment. I would like to know what the President has against balancing the budget every year and not spending as much money? I am starting to believe that this President is just like that one friend we all have who is always loose with OTHER people’s money.

I hear the President talk a good game when it comes to spending cuts, but at the end of the day we see his true colors. If he really cared about this nation and the problems we see and will see in the future, then he would never threaten a veto on something that is very important to the American people.

As I wrote about last week, the President is making up numbers to try and make the people believe that they all would love higher taxes. In his mind, the lie that 80% of the people want higher taxes is justified because in the end, he will get what he wants if enough people believe him. Not even those on the far left believe this lie, and no one that I have ever met has ever walked up to me and said, “Hey Shawn, I want some higher taxes!” Very few people say this, and even when they do they complain come tax time they have to pay taxes. In the end, no one wants higher taxes and to be honest, no one wants to be taxed period, but that is a part of life I have come to terms with.

We all, even the President, know what needs to be done. I also know that more than likely it will not be done because people in Washington cannot do something so simple JUST FOR the benefit of the people they represent. This should be an easy answer: cut spending and make sure businesses are not taxed to death so they can hire. This seems simple enough, but for a simplistic mind it is very difficult to understand. I keep on wondering why we have given so much time to talk about a subject that should have been able to be settled by now. By looking at those who represent us, I know now why we are in the trouble we are in.

Recently, politics has become a drag for me to even discuss. I get to the point at times when I want to give up, go back to doing something else for a while, and decide if I even want to talk about the issues that everyone is talking about these days. It never seems to end and it will never end, I am sure, but we all have to keep our heads up and make it through this tough time. it may last a very long time, but at some point I think we will be able to get out of the rut and make this nation a nation of hope once again. We still have hope, but that hope is lessening by the day.

Posted in: Political Blogs